Meg of the Ingeus Diaries: “I work for £51 a week to escape Jobcentre”

Remember Meg who previously told Slutocracy her story of the Ingeus experience (here and here)? She’s now working for £20 a week less than her Jobseeker’s Allowance just so she can escape the Jobcentre.

“I earn £51 a week working 2 days a week. My jobseekers was £71 but I can’t cope with the Jobcentre sending me here and there every two months,” she explains . (Meg had been sent to JHP and a 4 week workfare before being sent to Ingeus for 2 weeks.)

“I basically work for nothing because I get less than Jobseeker’s. But I prefer to work for nothing rather than be treated like shit by the Jobcentre. It lowers my self esteem and harms my mental health. My Jobcentre adviser cheerfully asked me if I felt “motivated” because I’d been to Ingeus. Bit being sent here and there against my will makes me less motivated, less confident and I feel like I am just their toy. I think some other people might prefer to work for less or the same as Jobseeker’s Allowance instead of going to the Jobcentre. I feel free now and I’m much happier. But not everybody can do this because nobody can survive on £51 a week. I’m able to because one of my relatives has just paid me back money I loaned her, but not everyone is so lucky. The money isn’t much and I know I won’t be able to live like this long term. I will have to get a job with more hours or higher wages in the next couple of months.

I enjoy my job and get on very well with everyone there. I can’t quit this job even if I wanted to because they need me to cover another staff’s holiday leave in August and it would be really bad to let them down. But I know if I went back to the Jobcentre they would force me to look for other jobs. They wouldn’t listen even if I explained to them that the only reason I was given a job is so they’ve got someone to cover August. They’d force me to let [my employer] down.”

 

You’ve got a job now. Does that mean that Ingeus did help you find work?

“Ingeus didn’t help me – there was no point in sending me there at all!” alleges Meg, “I finished the Ingeus course on Friday and got a phone call saying I’d got an interview on the Monday! And I forgot to show them my reference from my YMCA workfare but I still got the job. Nothing the Jobcentre sent me to helped me get a job. I actually felt a little nervous before the interview because Ingeus was always talking about dabbing water behind your ears and washing your hands so you won’t get sweaty or feel nervous. I’ve never felt nervous at an interview in my life but Ingeus made me feel that way, like an interview is a big deal.”

 

What else has happened since our last chat?

“Ingeus phoned me last week to ask how my job search was progressing. I think that’s a bit weird since I left the course in May. Jobseekers are not children, we don’t need to rely on their help. They think they are so brilliant that they can give us everything, make us get jobs after a 2 week course.

When I was doing my workfare at YMCA there was a man, O.  He didn’t turn up one day because it was snowing very heavily and he had to drive 20 miles in the snow. The snow was so bad in those few days that we all missed a couple of days of workfare because YMCA told us not to risk the journey. All O did was take an extra day off. O was sent to another workfare immediately after the YMCA one ended. I can’t prove that this was because he failed to attend his workfare that day but I believe it was. His new workfare was in a furniture shop. He is not a lazy man. He has decades of work experience and I think that’s why he can afford a car. I’ve bumped into him a couple of times and he’s always complaining about how he is treated by the Jobcentre. He wants to work but they act like he doesn’t.

That reminds me of when I’d just started claiming benefits and a little old lady with a zimmer frame was in the Jobcentre. I thought it was disgraceful that senior citizens are being treated this way after giving so much to the country. Then a smart looking middle-aged man in a suit came in and nodded to another man. He said ‘Jobless -feel like a criminal’ and indicated the Jobcentre. For whatever reason that always stuck in my mind.”

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

